Minnesota License Revocation Attorney
License revocation as the result of DWI or another traffic violation can be devastating when you rely on yourself to go to and from work, to and from school, and to take care of errands and other business. It is even more devastating when you have to have your license to do your job. If you cannot do your job, you will have to find a new one that doesn’t require a license or clean driving record. This can be difficult when the charge or conviction that led to license revocation is on your permanent record.
While all of this may sound rather daunting and life-altering, there is hope. It is possible for you to regain driving privileges fully or on a limited basis. The way to do this is to challenge the revocation with the help of your Southern Minnesota license revocation lawyer.
The Revocation Process
If you have failed a blood, breath, or urine test or you refused to take these tests after being suspected of DWI, your license can be revoked immediately. You will be given a temporary license seven days before the revocation goes into effect. Below are some things you should know about license revocation:
- Know that driver’s license revocation is very fast. This is why you need to retain the services of your attorney as soon as possible. Your license is important to you, so you need aggressive representation to challenge the charge that led to the revocation and to work toward reinstating all or some of your driving privileges.
- Based on the charge and circumstances relating to your case, Minnesota law mandates specific lengths of time in which the license can be canceled or revoked. It is important to consider all legal options .
If a person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under .16, they have no prior impaired driving incidence within the past decade, and there are no aggravating factors present, the revocation period is 90 days.
A one year suspension occurs when a person refuses to take a blood, breath, or urine test. However, this individual has no prior impaired driving incident and no aggravating factors present. A person will also receive a one year suspension if their BAC is over .16 or it is their second impaired driving incident within the past 10 years.
Other suspension periods are: 2 years for a second offense in 10 years plus a .16 BAC or more, 3 years for the third incident, 4 years for a fourth incident, 6 years for the fifth offense, and all of the aforementioned sanctions for a driver under the age of 21 with a BC of .08 or more. Under 21 may also receive a 30 day suspension for their first offense when no aggravating factors are present. If it is the second impaired driving incident and no aggravating factors are present, the suspension lasts for 180 days.
You do have rights and can challenge your revocation with the help of your Mankato license revocation lawyer. There is a statutory period of time, so you have to act fast or you forfeit your ability to challenge the revocation.
Contact A Southern Minnesota License Revocation Lawyer
If your license has been revoked, that doesn’t mean you won’t get it back because it is possible under Minnesota law for you to challenge a revocation. Your attorney will guide you through this process, as there are deadlines that need to be met and processes that have to be followed. The end result could be you getting your license back. To learn more, contact Birkholz Law, LLC by calling the Mankato office at 507-387-2100, the St. James office at 507-375-3374, or the Westbrook office at 507-274-6501.